## Service on External Committees or Organisations

Name	Position	Committee or Organisation
T.J.W. Alphey	Secretary	Committee of Heads of Agricultural and Biological Organisations in Scotland
1 5	Secretary	Scottish Management Advisory Committee
A.G. Bengough	Member	Scottish Soils Discussion Group
Vivian C. Blok	Committee Member	AAB Nematology Group
B. Boag	Member	UK National Committee for Biodiversity
J.E. Bradshaw	Chairman	Potato Section of EUCARPIA
R. Brennan D.J.F. Brown	Secretary Co-Chairman	Organising Committee for 8 <sup>th</sup> International <i>Rubus &amp; Ribes</i> Symposium Russian Society of Nematology International Symposium
D.J.F. BIOWII	Member	American Society of Nematology Ad Hoc Committee, International Federation of Nematology
	Member	European & Mediterranean Plant Protection Organization Ad Hoc Committee, <i>Xiphinema</i> <i>americannum</i> group nematodes
H.V. Davies	Member	EU Scientific Committee on Plants
	Member	CHABOS Scientific Sub-Committee
	Member	MLURI Promotion Board
R.P. Ellis	Member	BSPB Cereal Crop Group
DAFL	BSPB Representative	Scottish Agricultural College Recommended List Advisory Committee
D.A. Elston	Chairman	Royal Statistical Society, Highlands Local Group
B.P. Forster	Co-ordinator (4H) Committee member	International barley chromosome committee EU COST, Gametic embryogenesis
	External Examiner	M.Phil. Biotechnology, University of Reading
G.J. Gibson	Member	BBSRC, Mathematics & Modelling of Agriculture & Food Systems Panel
C.A. Glasbey	Member	EPSRC Mathematics College
	Member	Council of Royal Statistical Society
	Chairman	RSS Statistical Image Analysis and Processing Study Group
	Chairman	RSS Edinburgh Local Group Committee
	Member	RSS Research Committee
	Member	Mathematical Sciences Committee of British Association
	Member	RSS 2001 Conference Committee
C.A. Hackett	Council Member Finance / Administrator	British Region, Biometrics Society
T.D. Heilbronn	Member	Association for Crop Protection in Northern Britain
	Member	Organising Committee for EUCARPIA 2001 Organising Committee for 8 <sup>th</sup> International <i>Rubus &amp; Ribes</i> Symposium
J.R. Hillman	Chairman	SCRI/SASA/SAC Liaison Group
	Chairman	Tayside Biocentre Group
	Deputy Chairman	Board of Directors, MyInefield Research Services Ltd
	Member	Committee of Heads of Agricultural and Biological Organisations in Scotland
	Member	ECRR Board of Management
	Member	SNSA Adviser to Committee
	Member	Court of University of Abertay Dundee
	Member Member	Senate, University of Dundee University of Strathclyde Sub-Board for the Degree of B.Sc. in Horticulture
	Member	Tayside Economic Forum
	Member	PSRE Network Steering Committee
	Member	Perth & Kinross Agricultural Forum
	Member	Board of Directors, BioIndustry Association
	Adviser	International Foundation for Science, Stockholm
D.L. Hood	Secretary & Treasurer	Scottish Society for Crop Research
G.W. Horgan	Member	Royal Statistical Society, Highlands Local Group Committee
E.A. Hunter	Member	Scientific Committee of Agro-Industries Conference, Pau, January 2000
AT Issue	Member	RSS local (Edinburgh) committee Organising Committee for 8 <sup>th</sup> International <i>Rubus</i> & <i>Ribes</i> Symposium
A.T. Jones S.A. MacFarlane	Member Member	AAB Virology Group
W.H. Macfarlane Smith	Member	BBSRC Joint Committee on Health & Safety
	Member	BSPB Oilseed & Industrial Crops Group
	Member	ECRR PR Officers' Group
	Member	SABRI Safety Officers' Group
	Member	NPTC Plant Variety Development Panel
	Member	Organising Committee EUCARPIA 2001
G.R. Mackay	Member	Steering Committee of Global Initiative on Late Blight
	President	EUCARPIA
DKIMUK	Member	UK Potato Quarantine Unit Review Committee
D.K.L. MacKerron	Secretary Chairman	Potato-Crop Sub-Committee, SSCR Potato Crop Network, GCTE Focus 3
	Chairman	Section Physiology, EAPR
	Member	Steering Committee of the Seed Potato Forum
D.F. Marshall	Member	BBSRC GAIT Initiatve Panel
Lott i triutonull	Member	BBSRC Agri-Food Committee Network Group
	Member	SIMBIOS Management Group
M.A. Mayo	Secretary	International Committee on Taxonomy of Viruses (ICTV)
J	Member	Advisory Committee on Releases to the Environment (ACRE)
	Chair	Plant Virus Sub-committee of ICTV
U.M. Mallan	Member	Virus database Sub-committee of ICTV
	Member	IUBS/IUMS International Commission on Bionomenclature
U.M. McKean	Joint Chair	Scottish Agricultural Librarians' Group Organising Committee for 8 <sup>th</sup> International <i>Rubus &amp; Ribes</i> Symposium
R.J. McNicol	Convenor	Organising Commutee for 8 <sup>44</sup> International <i>Rubus &amp; Ribes</i> Symposium

Name	Position	Committee or Organisation
I.M. Morrison	Member	SCI Agriculture & Environment Committee
	Member	COST 814-II Alternative Fibre Crops Group
	Member	NFUS, Energy & Industrial Cropping Group
A.C. Newton	Member	Crop Protection in Northern Britain Organising Committee
	Member	United Kingdom Cereal Pathogen Virulence Survey Committee
	Web Server Manager	British Society for Plant Pathology
G . D	National Representative	COST 817 Airborne Pathogens on Management Committee on Cereals
G. Ramsay	Member	UK Potato Quarantine Unit Review Committee
K. Ritz	Member	BBSRC Plant & Microbial Sciences Committee Network Group
D.J. Robinson	Member	DETR Advisory Committee on Releases to the Environment
	Member	ICTV Tobamovirus & Tobravirus Study Group
	Member	ICTV Umbravirus Study Group
G.R.Squire	Chairman	CHABOS Working Group on Vegetation Dynamics
	Project Coordinator	SERAD Coordinated Programme in Dynamics of Species – Rich Vegetation
S.E. Stephens	Joint Chair	Scottish Agricultural Librarians' Group
	Member	Information Services Group - Scottish Library Association
	Member	Tayside and Fife Library and Information Network
	Working Group Member	British Research Institutes Serials Consortium (BRISC)
	Forum Group Member	Research Councils Library and Information Consortium (RESCOLINC)
M. Talbot	Chairman	Inter-departmental Statisticians Group, UK Plant Varieties & Seeds Committee
	Member	Statistics Committee of International Seed Testing Association
	Member	Technical Working Party on Automation and Computer Programs, International Union for the
		Protection of Plant Varieties
	Member	Royal Statistical Society Statistical Computing Committee
	Secretary/Treasurer	Edinburgh Centre for Rural Research
M. Taliansky	Member	Plant Virus Subcommittee, International Committee on Taxonomy of Viruses (ICTV)
	Chairman	Umbravirus Study Group, International Committee on Taxonomy of Viruses (ICTV)
Lesley Torrance	UK Representative	COST Action 823 'New Technologies to improve phytodiagnosis in Europe'
	Member	ICTV Plant Virus Sub Committee
	Chair	ICTV Furovirus and Allies Study Group
	Member	Cooperation in Science and Technology Management Committee
I. Toth	Member	Board of Directors, British Society of Plant Pathology
R. Viola	Organiser	COST 49 Workshop on Algal Polysaccharides, Dundee
R.E. Wheatley	Member	Plant Microbe Interaction Group Committee, Society for Applied Microbiology
B. Williamson	Treasurer	Association for Crop Protection in Northern Britain
	Treasurer	Organising Committee for 8 <sup>th</sup> International Rubus & Ribes Symposium
	Member	Committee for 12 <sup>th</sup> International <i>Botrytis</i> Symposium
F.G. Wright	Member	BBSRC/EPSRC Bioinformatics Panel
	Member	BBSRC Collaborative Computational Project CCP11 in Biosequence and Structure Analysis